Hands Off- Arizona Is A Hands Free Driving State

by

YES, Arizona is a hands-free state and driving with a device in your hands is illegal! We have been a hands-free state since January 2020, however, assessing fees for a ticket did not start until January 2021. So, what does hands-free mean?

It is against the law to:

  • Hold or support a device with your body. This includes, but is not limited to, in your hands and perched on your shoulder. 
  • Read, write or send a message via any portable wireless communication device
  • Scroll through social media, watch videos, record videos, or any other use of the device that causes a distraction or requires the use of your body

You are allowed to:

  • Engage and disengage a function on the device such as GPS route start and answering and ending a call
    use wireless communication devices such as earpieces or watches
  • Use a device for navigation of a vehicle
  • Use a device in an emergency situation to summon help or report a crime.

The fees start at $75 to $149 and second or subsequent violations can be as much as $150 to $250.

This is a good start because the use of a cell phone while driving is a major distraction, no matter who is behind the wheel. However, using your blue tooth does not get you off the hook. Being in conversation while driving is a significant cognitive distraction, therefore DrivingMBA recommends that cell phone use while driving is prohibited. It is the only way to keep your eyes on the road and your mind on driving.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Now Open in Two Locations!

Scottsdale

17787 N. Perimeter Dr., Suite A115
Scottsdale, AZ 85255

Glendale

5940 W Union Hills Dr, Suite D210
Glendale, AZ 85308